Secure connections and encryption

When you log onto the website, all information that you send and receive is transferred through a Secure Socket Layer (SSL). SSL creates a secure link between your browser and our server. We use SSL with 256-bit encryption which is widely accepted as the industry standard. 

SSL encrypts your personal information before it leaves your computer and guarantees that:

  • it is not altered between your computer and our server
  • unauthorised users cannot read it

You will always know when you are using a secure connection because a padlock icon is displayed on the status bar of your web browser and the address will begin with `https`. Depending on your browser setting, a pop-up window can appear to notify you that you will be entering a secured page.

Technology

We use many layers of security to protect your sensitive data - for obvious reasons we cannot disclose all of them, but the following are typically used:

  • All our operating systems are immediately updated with the latest security patches
  • Our anti-virus software is updated regularly
  • Our systems have firewalls to prevent unauthorised intruders.

What You Can Do About Security

There are simple things you can do to get the most protection for the least effort. By following these steps you will greatly increase your PC`s protection, not just when you use our online services, but when you use the internet generally.

These are not all the measures you can take, but are an excellent start. They are equally applicable to business owners and to private individuals. 

Update your operating system and browser on a regular basis

From time to time vulnerabilities are discovered in these programs. The publisher will then release a `patch` or `security update` to correct this weakness. These weaknesses are regularly exploited by virus writers and hackers to gain unauthorised access to those PC`s that have not  been updated. To check for updates you should visit the publisher`s website, typically their `Downloads` section, or use your operating system`s automatic update feature. 

Use and regularly update your anti-virus software

You may already be using anti-virus software but to be effective this software should make sure it has the latest virus definition files each time you connect to the internet.(If you are unsure how to configure this, you should refer to the software`s Help function.)

It is also possible to obtain free anti-virus protection. A search for `free anti-virus` on a search engine will provide a list of the most popular products. 

Use a `personal firewall`

A firewall is another small program that helps protect your computer and its contents from outsiders on the internet. When installed it stops unauthorised traffic to and from your PC. Enter `personal firewall` on a search engine for information on products.

Emails

Email is a great way to communicate, but unfortunately fraudsters also use the medium to target victims.

We will never ask you to confirm your personal information or email.

Do not open emails from unknown senders. If you are in doubt about the source of an email, for example if you don`t recognise the sender, it`s advisable to delete it. Emails are often used to spread viruses, or download software that will allow unauthorised access to your PC. It is advisable to never open unexpected attachments and to never follow links to internet sites you`re not familiar with.

Accessing our website

Only access our referral forms via links through our website: www.the-hwc.com or www.healthandworkconsultancy.co.uk. Other links could take you to a phoney website that may look like ours.

Logging In

Ensure that you enter the correct login code provided by The Health and Work Consultancy without it being seen by others.

Logging Off

Remember that once you have submitted the online form to close the browser when you have finished your online activity. 

Autocomplete / Saved storage

Remember to delete all cookies and `saved storage` from your browser history folder as your computer will store and remember data you have entered in the past. You should turn autocomplete off to protect your data.